Skip to content

Just How Hungry Are You?

by on January 13, 2012

It’s easy to get caught up in the mechanics of a fast.  To concentrate on what I am and am not allowing myself to eat, to even fall prey to the deception of pride when hunger pangs come and I victoriously deny myself!  But what are those hunger pangs for really?  I believe they are a truly significant part of our fast.  Allow me to explain.

When we begin a fast, whether for spiritual or physical reasons, our body goes into shock and revolt.  Many of you have told me of symptoms like headaches, nausea and dizziness in the first days of your fast as your body began to detox from all of the processed, can I say, junk and chemicals we unwittingly consume every day.  It’s a discomfort that causes many to wonder if they can continue and others to simply cave.  But you and I must remember that our fast – this fast is for a reason.  The Apostle James makes the appeal for you and I to “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded.”[1]  Fasting is that vehicle of drawing near, it brings us face to face with our need of cleansing and purity; and it removes clouds of confusion and compromise.  That is, if we get truly hungry.

This week of fasting has been a season of preparation.  Preparation for wonder and preparation for war.  Several of you have talked to me about the battles that have ensued since you started this fast.  I hope you were not surprised.  Satan knows what awaits us on the other side of this season of fasting. And because he knows, he will do anything possible to bring you to the point of raising the white flag.  Friends, it’s time to put a stake in the ground.  Take that flag and dip it in the crimson pool beneath the blood stained cross then raise it high in declaration “there is no option for retreat!”

When physical hunger pangs come, they use to remind me that it was time to eat.  Now they serve to remind me of a deeper hunger. A hunger that transcends satisfaction of natural food.  A hunger to see the Kingdom of Christ truly released on the earth – release in me and release through me!  A hunger, not for natural food, but for supernatural supply.  The release of righteousness, of peace and of joy through the power and presence of the Holy Ghost.

Remember when the disciples asked Jesus why they could not cast out the demon from the lad brought to them by an overwhelmed father form Galilee, He told them that “this kind of authority, power and anointing does not go out except by prayer and fasting”[2]   That’s what I’m hungry for, “that kind”!  Are you hungry?  Hungry enough to push away and to press in?  I am!  I’m getting really hungry.

Today’s suggested scripture reading:  Psalm 73

Pushing away and pressing in,
Pastor Terry


[1] James 4:8

[2] Italic mine.

Leave a Comment

Comment?

