Skip to content

Lessons in “Jalking” Part 2

by on January 23, 2012

One of the other lessons the Holy Spirit began to talk to me about throughout the last half of my Saturday morning was the number of traffic signs that I passed and their significance in my running.  Now, let me pause here to say that what I’m about to share is to be applied to your spiritual walk and not practically.  It should be rather silly to make this disclaimer, but then again, I don’t know the whole of my audience – so…

While driving any vehicle or walking (in the natural) always obey the traffic signs around you.

 As I regained my breath I rounded a corner and began to run again.  This time more focused on the rhythm of my breathing and little else until I neared a main intersection of our neighborhood.  Thirty yards from the corner I thought, “I can make it to the stop sign” but just at that moment I heard clear instruction of the Lord, “Ignore the traffic signs”.  I realized that I really wasn’t winded so I cautiously approached the corner, making sure no cars were coming and continued across the intersection.  Just feet away from the corner I caught myself thinking “if I can just make it to the next stop sign”.  Something I was made keenly aware of in my jogging experience is that through the scattered years of trying to incorporate this method of exercise as a habit of exercise I was, at the same time, setting myself up for failure by the traffic signs.  Very early on the focus of “just making it to the next sign” was an encouragement in building distance but later they became a hindrance to my building endurance.   I can’t say for certain about other times I’ve jogged but Saturday morning as I sat the next distance goal it wasn’t because I was exhausted or my lungs were about to explode, it was because – well, that is what I had always done before.  The Lord reminded me of King Joash [1] and how he would have defeated his enemy’s  throughout his reign as king had he not stopped shooting arrows.  I thought, “What was with three arrows, why did he stop so soon?”   In that instant I realized that I had already passed the second stop sign and was halfway past the corner; and the Holy Spirit asked me “why do you stop so soon?”

How many times do we stop just before the breakthrough in our lives;  stop just before the answer comes?  At that moment I asked the Lord to keep my ears more attune to the voice of the Holy Spirit than to the urge to stop too soon.

There were two more signs I saw next to each other that morning, a yield sign and a detour sign.  It’s like He had placed them side by side as a divine set up for another powerful illustration that of David’s stroll on the rooftop.  I was reminded of the opening words of the scripture text of that story, “It happened in the spring of the year, at the time kings go out to battle, that Joab led out the armed forces and ravaged the country of the people of Ammon, and came and besieged Rabbah. But David stayed at Jerusalem”.[2]  In this story, David both yielded and detoured from his purpose as a king.  And any Sunday school student knows the devastating outcome of his attention to those road signs.

Paul tells us what our focus should be on in this life’s race when he says, “Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.[3]

Class dismissed!

Pushing away and pressing in,

Pastor Terry


[1] 2 Kings 13:14-19

[2] 1 Chronicles 20:1

[3] Hebrews 12:1-2

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Resources for 2 Kings 13:14 - 19

Comment?

