Skip to content

Maintaining an Opened Ear

by on January 31, 2012

The Lord God has given Me The tongue of the learned, That I should know how to speak A word in season to him who is weary. He awakens Me morning by morning, He awakens My ear To hear as the learned.

How’s your hearing these days?   I was reading an article on fasting recently that suggested that coming off of a fast you should do so very slowly rather than just go back to the diet routine you had before the fast.  Although I agree with that practice and will say that doing otherwise can have rather unpleasant physical results, I was struck by a rational given by the article’s writer.  He said that coming off slowing would result in an extended keenness to the voice and presence of God’s spirit.  An extended keenness?

Believe me, I know it is not prudent for a Child of God to expect to stay on the mountain to all the time.  After all, looking at the like of Jesus you quickly realize that very little ministry transpired on the mountain but cities were changed when He came down.  But should I expect that that not many days from now the closeness of the Spirit, the anticipation and expectation I have to see and hear of the miraculous occurring around me will come to an end?  After all, that is what I prayed for throughout the fast, that this season would not be a momentary detour in my everyday life but that it would be the construction of a new path, a life change in my faith journey.

So can I lose this keen sense of the presence of God working in, through and around me?  Should I conclude then that the last 21 days were much like a cool rain breaking the heat of and extended summer?  I suppose I could but why?  Why not allow Him to “awaken me morning by morning [and] awaken my ears to hear”?

Friends, don’t believe the lie that the awesome presence of God naturally dissipates as we exit a season of fasting.  It does so only because we are the ones that fade in our earnest pursuit of His face.

Today’s suggested scripture reading:  Psalm 139:2-12

Pressing in!

Pastor Terry

Leave a Comment

Comment?

